I am the Luckiest

We were having a really difficult time deciding on the song for the first dance at the wedding.  I was thinking something jazzy like Harry Connick Jr.  He was undoubtedly thinking of something awful.

Most of the artists on his iPod playlist are dead: Jonny Cash, part of The Clash, half of the Beatles, one quarter of Led Zeppelin, and the lead singer of Nirvana, .  The rest are about three times his age: James Taylor, Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Crosby Stills and Nash (and Young who is not young), and Steely Dan.  He has the musical taste of a sixty year old.

The only artists he likes that are not in the grave or halfway there are the Dropkick Murphys and Ben Folds.  As much as I enjoy the combination of bagpipes and punk, I’m not keen on the idea of dancing to it at my wedding.  Ok, maybe later in the evening but certainly not for the first dance.

My playlist contains an absurd number of Bon Jovi songs and a bizarre hodgepodge of songs ranging from indie rock to classical to techno. 

We’ve already decided that we’ll be entering our reception to “The Love Cats” by the Cure.  Lame?  Kind of.  Cheesy?  Totally.  Perfect for us?  Absolutely!

I’m stoked with having the Cure for our entry music but for the first dance I want something a little more romantic.  I had been searching for the perfect song for weeks and my efforts had not been fruitful. 

That is, until the fantastic Australian Wedding blog Polka Dot Bride posted a mixed tape of lovely songs for the first dance.  When I came to the 5th song I started crying.  Happy tears, of course.  I am ever so grateful to her for leading us to our wedding song. 

This really is the perfect song for us.  Check out the lyrics.  It conveys what we both want to say on our wedding day.  We both feel that we are so lucky to have found each other.  This song never fails to bring a tear to my eyes.  I am going to be a blubbering mess during our wedding dance. 

And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it everyday
And I know
That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

I love you more than I have ever found a way to say to you

One response to “I am the Luckiest

  1. This song is amazing, honestly. The lyrics and words are just beautiful and it really moves me!

    it reminds me of a particular couple in the spotlight- but I have a special place in my heart for them so I don’t mind.

Leave a comment