Things I love

I’m not one to attach sentimental value to things.  I’ve moved 7 times over the past 10 years and as a consequence have become adept at culling my stuff to the point where I’ve developed a hatred of stuff and things.  If it’s not useful or it doesn’t make me happy, I don’t want it in my home.  That’s not to say that I don’t like any things.  There are plenty of things that I like.  Here are a few I’d like to share with you.

bear

I got this bear for my 16th birthday.  He has notes on him from my aunts, uncles and cousins.  The bear was something tangible to remind me of my family on the other side of the ocean.  Now that I’m only 1,000 k’saway I get to see them far more often.   My grandmother passed away in 2002, just a few years before I moved to Sydney.  She would have been so happy that I moved here. 

 

 

 

 shoes

 These are the shoes I wore on my wedding day.  Peep-toed slingbacks make me happy, but throw some blingy jewels on them and I’m elated.  I keep them on the stairs so I can see them every day. 

 

 

 

girl

 This picture makes me laugh every time I look at it.  I found it at a weird store in Tokyo.  It came in the frame and we carefully transported it home in our carry-on luggage.  My mom took it off the wall when she was visiting but we promptly took it out of hiding when she left.

Leave a Reply

