I Am Gonna to Make it Through This Year if it Kills Me.

We’ve been going through a lot of changes at work lately.  Redundancies, acquisitions, outsourcing, organisational structure changes…needless to say things are pretty tense and hectic.  Fortunately – or unfortunately, I haven’t figured out which yet – I still have a job.  And for the same amount of pay, my workload has tripled.  Woohoo!  Your sarcasm meter should be going off the charts at that exclamation. 

Although I’ve known about my new responsibilities for about a month now, it’s only just hit me how much work I have to do this year.  And when I say just hit me, I mean that about 30 minutes ago I woke up, came to this realisation, booted up my laptop, did a half an hour of work and am now blogging about it.  It’s 2:30AM. 

As if the increased work load weren’t enough to keep my busy, I’m also doing two masters courses at uni next semester instead of the usual one.  So two nights a week I’ll be attending lectures and the other nights I’ll slogging through the reading and working on assignments.

Ever the optimist, I can see one bright spot in this year that will help ease the pressure of all this hard work: our honeymoon.  If I manage to survive until June I will be rewarded with 4 romantic weeks in France.  When my eyes have turned rectangular from staring at spreadsheet after spreadsheet or when I’m pulling an all-nighter to finish an assignment, I can take a moment to daydream about wine, patisseries, chateaus and museums and maybe, just maybe, I’ll make it through the year.

Leave a Reply

